Book Updates, What I'm Writing

My NaNoWriMo 2016 Project

So for this year’s NaNoWriMo, I was thinking that perhaps I should:

  1. Try to write as much as I can for Knotted Up book 2: Knot thy Enemy
  2. Write my originally planned story for this year’s NaNoWriMo
  3. Or try to just get back into the full swing of things where I was writing between 1500 to (sometimes) over 3,000 words daily.

Then I thought, why not all three?

Why?

Well, like I explained a few weeks ago I was essentially tossed off the writing wagon for the better park of the year where I was sometimes writing like 1,000 words for the week! And most of that was me ‘planning’ what I should write. Which I either tossed or never followed anyway. Good lot that did me.

So for this year, I have decided to get up each day and write what I want. I may not write the story I have (somewhat in my die-hard pantsing) ‘plotted’. I may not write anything more than 30 pieces of flash fiction. I may not write more than a chapter or 2 for that new book I so desperately wanted to write for this month. BUT I will be writing. And for me right now, that’s the most important thing. Even 500 hundred words a day will feel like I’ve won the grand prize. And honestly, with the way I’m feeling these last few days, I can see me winning this year.

I have even decided to print out and have over my desk the following (which is perhaps some of THE BEST writing advice I’ve ever come across):

writing for nanowrimo 2016

So wish me luck because 1. I’ll need it and 2. I could use it.

So what are your NaNoWriMo’s plans for this year? And if you don’t achieve all you set out to do at the end of the month, congratulations anyway. You tried. And in the life of an author, that’s not considered a failure (unless you genuinely didn’t do anything, then, that’s a whole ‘nother ballgame).

But like the above poster said, WRITE, WRITE and… you guessed it WRITE!

Leave a Reply

